The Outsiders

People want to be kind and compassionate; I truly believe that. However, actually putting kindness and compassion into action is a lot harder than just thinking about it. The truth is, when you have a child like Kamp, there are times when you’re simply not welcome, and treated like an outsider.

We don’t take Kamp to the movies because he screams and can be very loud. We avoid busy parks because he’ll see something he wants (toys or food) and walk up to complete strangers and take it. We avoid the store – even people’s homes. Not because someone has said we’re not welcome, but unlike Kamp, Jesse and I can pick up on social cues and  know certain people – although they would never say – just don’t want him around.

It’s really an uncomfortable feeling when you know your kid’s not welcome somewhere. And although Jesse and I remind each other that we don’t care – it’s hard to not take it personal.

Here is the latest on the list of places Kamp is no longer welcome:

Anyone who knows me, knows I love to work out. It is the ONE thing I do every day that’s just for me. For an hour and a half I get to put on my headphones, rock out to my favorite tunes and make my body feel better physically – especially when I’m so often drained emotionally.

From the beginning, I have always tried to avoid taking Kamp to the gym daycare. I know he’s difficult, so when I don’t have to take him, I don’t have to worry about him.  During the summer however, I didn’t have much of a choice.

I took precautions. I took him at night when it wasn’t as busy, and I explained to the employees about his specific disabilities. (i.e. what his triggers are, and how to deal with them). And I figured it was only for an hour and a half –  should’t be a big deal right? WRONG!

Halfway into the summer, I received a phone call from the supervisor at the daycare. She told me the ladies who worked during the times I brought Kamp did not want to deal with his disability. She said, “they’re not trained to deal with kids like Kamp.”

I don’t have to tell you that I was VERY emotional about it!  The gym was suppose to be my safety net. It was what I had been relying on to keep my sanity! I “hurried” off the phone (I hung up on her) and burst into tears.

I called her back later and did my best to keep my wits about me while I explained a little thing called the Americans With Disabilities Act, and how they couldn’t refuse my son because of his disability. She back peddled a bit and said to, “…just bring him when I am here.” But at that point, I knew my Kampy wasn’t welcome, and what kind of mother would I be if I took my special boy back for people to treat him poorly because they wanted their job to be easy.

I haven’t taken Kamp back, and now that he is back in school, I’ve returned to the daycare with Max and have had no issues. However, I do feel weird. I hate knowing that someone rejected my child. It’s hard not to feel like a pariah. It puts a sick feeling in my stomach; I feel rejected, too.

Sometimes we (as a family) feel like we are outsiders; tolerated but not really welcome. It’s lonely and frustrating. In some of my weakest moments I have wished that things were different, but I love Kamp and everything that comes with it. So, I put on my big-girl pants and remember that my little family is the most important thing in my life, and if your not with us then it’s your loss! But, if you are with us then you are in for some crazy-awesome, mind-blowing adventures. And I never said there wouldn’t be poop involved 😉

3 thoughts on “The Outsiders

  1. I have a son with disabilities and know this feeling all to well. I wish people could look past the disability and see the child. If you are in Utah, you might try friday’s kids or the ufit program. They will spell you off for a few hours each friday, and you will know your kids are cared for by people who really do want them around.

  2. 😦 Im so sorry Beth!!!! I don’t work there anymore- if I did I’d say.. “bring him when Im working!!!!!” when he came in to the daycare I always just let him play in the back baby room and he was ok.. i love you guys.
    sorrry!! I very very very rarely take Linkin in anymore…. I usually get called about a half hour later.. but its better then nothing.. Good luck.
    i know the feeling.

Leave a comment